Goodbye 2016

do widzenia 2016, I figured that with the hours I have left in this wonderful year that I can make the most of it by reminiscing on all of the wonderful things God has done with my life this year.

This year to me is one that I will remember for the rest of my life and I can only hope and pray that you will have a year in your life that you’ll never forget.

I thought that I would never forget the year my grandmother died, I never did, but 2016 sticks out in the ginormous book called my life.

2016 is the year I started to become who God created me to be, the year I figured out who I was created to be. People may look at my life and see things from their perspective but no-one can see how not only I see it but none of us will see it how God sees it.

It may not seem perfect but it’s going exactly as planned in his eyes.

I walked into 2016 as the girl who, didn’t have friends. The girl who had no idea what she capable of, no idea what gifts God has given her.

He has blessed me with an unbreakable support system, Himself.

Going into 2016 I had issues with keeping myself afloat, with worry and doubt. I may worry from time to time but that’s exactly what makes us human right?

2016 was the year I realized that I like preaching, I mean you can’t shut me up, right?

It took me awhile to write it because at first I didn’t even know where to start.

It didn’t become the sermon it was until I took it to God. I took it to him and asked for his guidance as I went through it, and surely little by little he revealed it all to me.

It was the year I threw myself out there and participated in Fine Arts, I was so worried and doubtful going into it. I had thought that I did horrible since it was my first time. Then after all the hours of not wanting to open the envelope I did and figured out that I was just one point from nationals.

It was the year I learned to be vulnerable and to trust people because keeping a wall up all the time was unhealthy.

It was the year I reconnected with family and old friends and I couldn’t be happier or grateful for them.

I learned to be a kid. As silly as that sounds to you, I’ve never had the chance to, until this year.

It was also the year I found Bono after he mysteriously disappeared from my math classroom.

It was a year where Cleveland didn’t make mistakes they brought home two championships and the Indians showed us what it meant to give it your all.

I felt loved and accepted so much this year thanks to the people God has put in my life.

2016 is the year I realized that I am important, I am loved and I am forgiven because Christ gave it all at the cross.

I was reminded that I still don’t mess with Clowns.

The year I made friends of all ages, because sometimes maturity means the world to me.

I was reminded that the sweat, blood, and tears put into schoolwork pays off.

These last few month have been the worst for me though, but I was reassured and for the first time in my life genuinely appreciated for what I do daily. Thank you.

Thank you to everyone who made this undoubtedly one of the best years of my short life and I can only pray that The Lord will bless me with many more to come. I love him so much, and at times like these, of reflections, I am reminded of the unconditional love he has for not only me but every one of us.

Come at me 2017 because I can do anything through Christ who strengthens me.

||Wake, Pray, Slay||

-Carolynn Bright

2 thoughts on “Goodbye 2016

Leave a Reply

