He Heard Me.||

Lately I have been swarmed with papers and other normal obligations such as Sunday School and church proceeding, but that’s your senior year for you right?

Now I know most of you are probably confused because on this blog it is listed that I am a junior but I decided not too long ago that I wanted to graduate early. It was a huge decision for me because it not only cost money, but it take hard work and dedication in order to do so.

Not only was it a huge decision for myself to make but it was a major thing to pray and talk to God about. I was dedicated for a long while to graduate early and then I started to think it was impossible, I started to tell myself that I couldn’t do it. I doubted myself up until a few weeks ago.

I had given up and I told myself that I couldn’t do it. That it was impossible, I was heart-broken and I felt as if I not only failed God, but I had failed myself. It felt as if I had a constant pressure upon my heart, like I had someone constantly sitting upon my chest. Every time I thought about the subject I couldn’t help but cringe. I was hurting and I couldn’t bear to even think about it.

I did what any child would do and I called out to The Lord for it says in Psalm 18:6 NIV

“6 In my distress I called to the LORD; I cried to my God for help. From his temple he heard my voice; my cry came before him, into his ears.”

He heard me.

Every time we pray the Lord bends down to listen. He listens to our prayer and he answers them whether or not it’s the answer we want.

I didn’t know what was next for my life and I went to Him in my time of distress and  in my time of heartbreak, it was a time where I felt as if my world was crumbling down once again.

The week following that, I had felt a little bit better in those regards but I didn’t truly feel better until I walked out of my guidance counselor’s office that week.

She had called me down about graduating early and it was definitely a subject that was still raw for me, but for some reason I figured “Why not?”. So I asked her if I’d still be able to do it. Something deep down was telling me that I shouldn’t throw away the idea just yet.

You know what?

I can and I will graduate early. I prayed for so long the day I felt as if I was being suffocated by my life. I cried and went to the one person who would support me though it all.

You wanna know something even crazier?

I left her office being raked with spiritual chills, and I was on cloud nine. I stopped right in the middle of the hallway and prayed. I thanked Him for answering my prayer, for not letting me give up on myself and for being there with me during my time of weakness.

When I am weak, our God is strong.

I cannot tell you how thankful and happy that I am to know a father that is like he is. That even though I felt like just giving up, He was there to catch me and remind me that I can do anything through Christ who strengthens me.

In Psalm 145:18-19 NIV

18 The LORD is near to all who call on him, to all who call on him in truth. 19 He fulfills the desires of those who fear him; he hears their cry and saves them.”

I say this many times within my blogs but how great is our God?

He deserves the glory. He deserves to be worshiped because even though I make mistakes daily and I sin all the time, He still loves me. He is my refuge and my strength because if God can still love someone like me than I can take sometime out of my day to meditate on His word and praise His glorious name.

Today give Him the glory, take the time out of your day for Him.

Go to Him in your distress.

||Wake, Pray, Slay||

-Carolynn Bright

 

 

Leave a Reply

