Contentment.||

Lately I have been hating my business class. Its so hard for me to pay attention because when the class gets off topic or when they talk about certain things, my brain literally turns off.

It really started to bother me because I usually don’t despise a class like I do this one. I’ve never looked at the clock every five minutes as I do in this class and that’s saying something because I strongly disliked Spanish.

So, I sat down and began to think and to even pray about my issue. It could be the fact that I’m in a classroom full of freshmen, or that business itself can be boring at times, but I have come to this conclusion, they are so very worldly.

I know it’s the complete opposite thing you expect to hear from someone who attends a public high school but something about that class just is. In this class we talk about big companies like Apple, Amazon and even Nike but it’s not the companies that make it seem so worldly.

Once we get on those topics we talk about the innovations and the next best thing or what the company should do to make it better or to get people to their product. It makes me sick to my stomach. I’m not even lying there’s such an uneasiness about that for me.

The number one thing that makes me sick to my stomach is my generation. They are taught and wired to want the next best thing, to have the clothes that are in style or the latest iPhone. That’s what bothers me the most but sometimes I have to take a step back and realize that I was taught the importance of contentment when I little and when I taught the lesson to my Sunday school kiddos.

For it says to be content in Matthew 6:25-26 NLT

25 “That is why I tell you not to worry about everyday life—whether you have enough food and drink, or enough clothes to wear. Isn’t life more than food, and your body more than clothing? 26 Look at the birds. They don’t plant or harvest or store food in barns, for your heavenly Father feeds them. And aren’t you far more valuable to him than they are?”

I cannot tell you how often people in my generation neglect the fact that we should be content with what we already have because the Lord will provide.

I’ve never once seen something so heartbreaking, so sickening as I do this issue. Of course there is many other things I could be sick to my stomach about but this one bothers me so much.

You wanna know why?

Because I’ve realized this, that this is an issue I can help put an end to. I can show and teach others what it is like to be content. It’s a difference I can make in this world for His glory and you can too.

How?

Just by telling someone, for example if a friends asks you if your getting the new iPhone 7 simply say no, because you know that you are content with your 5S. If someone asks what brand of dress your getting for homecoming tell them you bought one from Target or on-sale some other place.

Be happy with what you have.

Be content with what you have because their are people on this earth who aren’t as blessed as you are.

Be the change you want to see in the world.

||Wake, Pray, Slay||

-Carolynn Bright

 

 

Leave a Reply

