Loving Yourself Through Christ · My Lifestyle · Questions We Ask Ourselves

Faith and Dependence.||

||August 31st 2016||

“About that time the disciples came to Jesus and asked, “Who is greatest in the Kingdom of Heaven?” Jesus called a little child to him and put the child among them. Then he said, “I tell you the truth, unless you turn from your sins and become like little children, you will never get into the Kingdom of Heaven. So anyone who becomes as humble as this little child is the greatest in the Kingdom of Heaven.”

-Matthew 18:1-4 NLT
Last Wednesday my youth pastor had talked about this scripture and it was our job to spend at least 5 minutes meditating on it. I have done so much more than 5 minutes.
This is what I got out of it. In order to have an intimate relationship with God you have to learn to humble yourself, you have to learn to be dependent on him just as we were dependent on our parents as children. Even in our actual relationships with potential spouses we have to be dependent upon each other.
You can’t always be independent. God wants to be the number one person in your life but how is he going to be your number one if you don’t depend on him? How is he going to be your number one if you don’t trust him?
I’m seventeen years old and I’m at that age where I want more than anything to be independent and to make my own decisions. Heck I’m gonna be going to college soon but here’s the thing. I may want to be independent but how am I going to complete or make decisions without God?
One things for sure I have a huge issue with asking others for help, I think it most definitely has to do with my thirst to be independent. I don’t want to seem incapable, weak or to be a burden to others.
For it says in 2 Corinthians 12:9 NLT “9Each time he said, “My grace is all you need. My power works best in weakness.” So now I am glad to boast about my weaknesses, so that the power of Christ can work through me.”
So don’t be embarrassed or ashamed that you need to ask for help or that you feel weak when doing so. Being dependent on Christ is nothing to be ashamed of, for His power is made Perfect in weakness.
Another thing I want touch upon is the story of A Dead Girl and a Sick Woman in Luke 8:40-56

“40 Now when Jesus returned, a crowd welcomed him, for they were all expecting him. 41Then a man named Jairus, a synagogue leader, came and fell at Jesus’ feet, pleading with him to come to his house 42 because his only daughter, a girl of about twelve, was dying.

As Jesus was on his way, the crowds almost crushed him. 43 And a woman was there who had been subject to bleeding for twelve years, but no one could heal her. 44 She came up behind him and touched the edge of his cloak, and immediately her bleeding stopped.

45 “Who touched me?” Jesus asked.

When they all denied it, Peter said, “Master, the people are crowding and pressing against you.”

46 But Jesus said, “Someone touched me; I know that power has gone out from me.”

47 Then the woman, seeing that she could not go unnoticed, came trembling and fell at his feet. In the presence of all the people, she told why she had touched him and how she had been instantly healed. 48  Then he said to her, “Daughter, your faith has healed you. Go in peace.”

49 While Jesus was still speaking, someone came from the house of Jairus, the synagogue leader. “Your daughter is dead,” he said. “Don’t bother the teacher anymore.”

50 Hearing this, Jesus said to Jairus, “Don’t be afraid; just believe, and she will be healed.”

51 When he arrived at the house of Jairus, he did not let anyone go in with him except Peter, John and James, and the child’s father and mother. 52  Meanwhile, all the people were wailing and mourning for her. “Stop wailing,” Jesus said. “She is not dead but asleep.”

53 They laughed at him, knowing that she was dead. 54 But he took her by the hand and said, “My child, get up!” 55  Her spirit returned, and at once she stood up. Then Jesus told them to give her something to eat. 56  Her parents were astonished, but he ordered them not to tell anyone what had happened.”
First off wow. If you’re not amazed by this then I think you should read it about 20 more times. This Woman who has been bleeding for 12 years had been healed by just touching the edge of his cloak. Manuscripts say that this woman spent all that she had on doctors to heal her. She came all the way to Christ just to touch him, that maybe just maybe this would be all she needed to cure herself.
I thought about this scripture a lot and it’s exactly what we do when we don’t depend on God. We find ourselves having a problem maybe it’s a relationship or something as serious as a depression. So we as human beings try everything that we can to fix our problem. We spend all of our time, money and energy trying to fix our problem. This woman had been bleeding for 12 years and she was doing everything she could to fix it. She came out to Jesus and just touched His cloak and bam she was instantly healed.
She had to humble herself and go to Christ for help. She had to make decision to go to him for help even if she didn’t talk to him. She probably thought that maybe if she could just touch him that she could be new once again.
We try so hard to try and fix our problem when all we need is to humble ourselves like children and reach out to Him for help.
Sometimes it’s hard to humble ourselves to trust God because we cannot see what our future holds and it’s a scary thing. In Luke 8:50 Jesus says “Don’t be afraid; just believe, and she will be healed.”

Jairus had to have the faith and trust that Jesus would stick to his word. In that moment Jairus had to believe and depend on Christ.

Carolynn needs to work on being dependent on God. So that’s exactly why I’m going on this social media fast for 2 weeks. Which means yes, I’m going to go silent on the Internet for a while but it’s all for the better strengthening of my relationship with Christ.

I encourage everyone who feels as if they are too independent or they feel as if they cannot depend on God, to go for it.

Another challenge I have for you is to do Every. Single. Form. of social media. It’s easier than it looks.

I know that most people fast but then exempt Snapchat because they don’t want to lose their streaks. In my opinion that’s saying that Snapchat is more important than your relationship with God.

Guess what? It’s not.

He is #1.

||Wake, Pray, Slay||

~Carolynn Bright

Leave a Reply

