You Are Not Inadequate.||

||July 6th 2016||

It’s come to my attention that it’s really easy to get lost, to not only get lost but to feel like you aren’t doing enough. Sometimes I find myself thinking am I really doing all that I can actually do?

I’m not gonna lie and I’m going to be bluntly honest, I sometimes feel inadequate, feeling inadequate is not a good feeling at all. It’s a feeling that no one should ever feel especially when they’re doing all that they actually can.

Most of the time I feel like I’m not doing enough to spread the light of Jesus Christ in this dark world. Sometimes I think that no one appreciates me. I feel that I am just that girl who is just smiling, bubbly and does the most she can to help others out because I know what it’s like not to have somebody to lend a helping hand, that I know how it feels to feel alone or to feel stressed out when you’re trying to complete something you’ve had your heart set on.

Just about a week ago, my sister Loni had texted me out of the blue. At first I was really confused because she never does that out of the blue but for some reason I knew that this meant something.

So, me being the good little worker that I am, waited until after I got off work so I could have a legitimate conversation with her. We had a mostly normal conversation starting out, you know the “how are you’s”and the normal conversations are starters.

Do you guys want to know something really crazy?

She actually told me that she was proud of me, that she felt inspired by me. I obviously felt intrigued and I wanted to know exactly why she felt this way because frankly I had no idea why she thought this. So, I asked her basic question, “why?”

She responded with this, “I am so proud to have a sister so dedicated to the one person who is always with her in times of pain and great joy. I am proud to have a little sister who is just showing her love for Jesus and serving other people.”

I’m crying while typing this right now. I cannot tell you how good it feels to have someone who will step out of her way to tell you exactly what she thought. I needed that, I needed to know that no matter what I am doing it’s not for nothing, it’s for the glory of God.

That when I feel inadequate, that they’re are people out there who look up to me who are proud of me in so many ways possible.

It’s reminds me that no matter what I do even if I’m not meaning to, that I making a difference in someone’s life. That I’m successfully be the light that people need in their lives. That I am showing a good example of Christ and that I am reminding people that great things can be done.

I don’t even have the words to tell you guys how much that meant to me. I knew it was something good, and something Godly, because before that message even came to my phone I was already getting spiritual chills.

It was exactly what I needed to remind myself of, that when I feel like giving up, when the work I do just doesn’t feel like I’m doing enough, it reminds me that whatever you are doing, your showing others exactly how to live for Christ. That it’s showing them how much love I have for our Creator. It reminds me that everything that I do is not done in vain.

So, I’m going to ask you to do one thing today or maybe even the whole week if you’re feeling generous. Go up to someone, whether it be your mom, dad, sister, brother, friend, or pastor and tell them how much they mean to you. Let them know how much you enjoy their heart for serving. Tell them exactly what you think. Appreciate them and tell them that they are not inadequate and that what they are doing will lead to far far greater things than any of us will ever know. Even if you don’t yet know what you can do to make a difference. You can just make a difference in someone else s life by just telling them that they are adequate, that their work does not go unnoticed and that what they does make a difference not only in your life but another peoples lives. 

If you do one thing this week. One fantastic thing, do just that. I’m speaking from experience here, I have never felt so humbled and appreciated in my life, and that’s only from one person.

Make a difference and be a world changer. 

||Wake, Pray, Slay||

~Carolynn Bright

Leave a Reply

