Fasting – Change.||

||May 21st 2016||

“My mind and body may grow weak, but God is my strength; he is all I ever need,”

||Psalm 73:26 GNT||

Not to long ago I did a Social Media fast, I know what you all are thinking, that I’m a crazy person right now but I’m not. A lot of my non-Christian friends at school were amazed and even curious of why I was going through with it and they would often tell me that they could never complete one.

That’s kinda sad isn’t it? My fast was only for two weeks but they thought that was an eternity. One of my friends from church completed one for a whole month. I’m taking baby steps, but I’m thankful that I actually did it.

Through out that whole fast, my past times were to read my bible and message my friends. I cannot tell you how much those two things made such a difference in my spiritual life.

Reading my bible helped me become closer to God and become wiser by learning from his word.

Praying, I cannot tell you how amazing and wonderful it is to talk to God and to have someone to listen to you. He may not answer your prayers right away but if your persistent with your prayers he will give you the answers you seek. Prayer is such a powerful thing. Become a prayer warrior.

Texting with my friends, this one might sound really irrelevant but it isn’t. I’ve been praying that I could develop better relationships with my friends so that I could have Christian friends to push me to become more invested with my spiritual life.

It’s to tranquil to focus on the main things in our lives.

It’s nice to not have to worry about how many likes you got on Instagram or Facebook. It’s nice just to sit back and read his word every single time you want to go on social media. It helps develop those habits you need to have a strong relationship with Christ.

Jesus has a plan for your life and the hard times will help you grow an intimate relationship with him.

Some of you may be going through a tough time whether it’s family issues or your failing your math class. I’m going through some change myself. Almost a year ago our Youth Pastor left to fulfill his dream. Two weeks ago, after eight months of searching we’ve finally found a new pastor.

The point of me writing this is so you guys know that you are not alone.

Even when you think you are, God is still there with you every step of the way.

The question is, Are you gonna listen to him?

Are you gonna go to him?

Honestly if you wanna develop that intimate relationship with God “Worship him in the hallway,” It’s a analogy I love to use because when God closes one door, another opens. So, until that door opens worship him and praise him through the pain, the confusion and the sadness.

When it seems like he’s not there or not listening, believe me when I say he is. Have faith that no matter what your going through, your heavenly father will get you through it all.

I encourage you to complete a fast but don’t do it cause I told you too but do it because you want to get closer to God.

I completed a fast because the change and the stress of change was getting to me. It even got me to the point on having panic attacks, I couldn’t even breathe. My mind was so scattered that I couldn’t even focus on God if I wanted too.

In those times when I felt like crying, when I felt like I couldn’t breathe, I prayed. I prayed for him to help me through the change to make everything feel better, to take all the fear, anxiety and pain away. I read his word, so that he may speak through his word and give me comfort in tragedy.

You wanna know what he did?

He was there with me through it all, even through there were times when I felt like he wasn’t even listening. He gave me a group of friends that support each other no matter what happens. He’s given me the fire inside me that I cannot contain. He gave me that fire so I could use it to preach and to write just like I’m doing now.

Two years ago I struggled with public speaking and now I can get up in front of judges and even a whole congregation of church members and preach. I’ve never thought in a million years that God would want to use me in that way or to even use me through my writing skills.

Honestly, if you told me that he would use me in such a marvelous way, I would’ve never believed you.

My advice to you is to get close to God or to even strengthen your relationship with him. He may just speak to you and use you to speak into the lives of other people.

||Wake, Pray, Slay||

-Carolynn Bright

Leave a Reply

